Tags

, , , , ,

http://www.ancientgreece.com/s/Acropolis/

My first day in Athens and I went to the most touristy place I could think of: The Acropolis.  I don’t remember learning much about it in Art History 101, I think a lot of focus was made on the column styles but my class was at 8 a.m. so what I recall of my studies nearly 30 years ago is foggy.

image

I spent a couple of hours climbing up to and walking around the Acropolis and what I favored most about it was the trip up and down.  Climbing up I found niches and caves dedicated to Greek Gods and Goddesses.  You can climb off the main path to examine them more closely and see where tiny statues of Aphrodite, Eros, were laid into niches.  I know that Apollo, Zeus and Pan are fictitious characters but when I climbed up to the caves that were shrines for them I felt like I was entering spaces they actually had once been to.  I actually had that thought for a moment, “wow, Zeus himself was once here.”  I always love Greek mythology and when I learned of Zeus and Apollo as a child I felt like they were actual men.

The Parthenon

 

The Parthenon, at the top of the Acropolis, is the temple dedicated to the Goddess Athena, whom Athens is named for.  The temple gets its name from the Greek word for virgin, a little tidbit of information I don’t remember learning before this trip. However, I didn’t read much from my art history books.  I mostly just looked at the pictures and relied on my class lectures for information.  I also didn’t thoroughly read the instructions for the B&B I’m staying at before arriving here.  This led to me ringing the wrong bell and delaying my check in for an hour.  You pay the price for not doing enough research before traveling.

